Band Wagon with Joedy Rose


I cannot begin to explain how excited I got when JOEDY ROSE decided to cooperate with me, for this interview! But then again, as a music junkie, I get excited whenever someone in the “big league” (AKA any musician) even briefly notices me. At this point I can say that I’m really happy that my Band Wagon series are getting this much interviews. Now read on to find out more about this amazing person!

 

Q: This is a run in question, as I always ask people to introduce themselves. So who are you and what do you do?

My name is Joedy Rose and I play guitar around the world, making music.

Q: How did your musical journey start? Did you just decide to become a musician or was there something more to it?

I grew up in a hotel in southsea which was owned by my parents. We would go and watch live bands in the night club “Slanders” that they had round the corner, I would see instruments and be all “wow” when people played them. I was far too young to concentrate on anything but the seed was planted right there at about 5 years old. Years later my cousin Dan came round with a strat and played some licks and I was hooked.  I never stuck at anything but guitar from that moment was always in my life and always has been since. Dan now lives out in Sydney and runs his own music festival and shows and I’m still playing away.

Q: You worked with quite a few bands. What did that kind of cooperation taught you? 

It’s been a great experience working with all the bands I have layer alongside. From back in the day playing small college gigs etc and then getting to hit up bigger stages and crowds. It’s really tough sometimes when you are playing every night and sleeping in a bus or freezing in a van somewhere out in east Europe but the people you’re u meet and sights you see make it all worth it.  I would say the diversity of bands I have played with from indie to hardcore metal and 80’s Rock through to funk and R&B made me realize that your u can’t just stick to what you know, get out there and play. Change it up and meet new people whilst overcoming new problems.

Q: Do you have a favorite story that happened to you on your tours? Would you be willing to share it?

Wow….tour can get really messy and I used to be a one man riot but you kinda pull together aft a few years of smashing yourself up haha. There are always crazy tales but one of my faces was sitting and jamming with Evan Stanley ( Paul Stanley’s son from Kiss ) out back of a tattoo shop in New York then seeing him and Mark Mendoza from twisted sister jam out some soulful guitar music… That is the shit that always sticks with you.

Q: What work are you the most proud of and why?

I’m most proud of my son. He is named after Dimebag Darell,Zakke Wyld and my father Tony rose….He is six years old and has the biggest heart in the world…I’m stoked with guitar stuff I have done but when your laid back six year old boy comes in from school and decides after seeing a band he wants a drum kit and guitar it puts a smile on your face you can’t shift haha….best part is he wants a Jackson Flying V Randy Rhoads signature hahahaha.

Q: Since we just jumped into the new year, what is the best thing that happened to you in 2015? Also do you have any New Year resolutions?

2015 was a great year for me, I was playing lots of funk and R&B alongside one the best rhythm sections you could wish for my boy Jack Stephens (session drummer/producer) and shag (session bass/producer) then I get a call from jacks cousin Tim Tephens (EMF) saying can I go out to Florida and play some guitar?, I jump on a plane and hit up Memphis with his band Mojiles before flying out to play for some great people at a UFC party in California. We all had a blast and played some great songs with Randy couture (UFC /Exndables the movie) playing killer mouth harp on top……it was a very humbling experience and I love USA. That whole time from start to finish was the best part of last year mainly because of all the great people and the musicians that surrounded me.

My New Years resolution is to write more because I told a certain person I would haha

Q: Who inspire you the most?

Everyone who plays and instrument and lots who don’t. I get inspired by art in all forms but there’s a list of guitar players that are my go to people. Inspiration can come at anytime you just got a be awake enough to take it and fly.

Q: If you could do anything right now, what would it be?

Anything? ….. I would like to go jam with Nick Johnston and then play video games, drink all the coffee and talk about great music.

 

Joedy Rose, once again thank you for the interview! It was an awesome experience.

You can find Joedy on:

10734007_10152448732801570_64466773088137517_o


Follow me on:

twitter facebook pinterest Instagram g+

Get your interview here!

10 thoughts on “Band Wagon with Joedy Rose

    1. I’m glad you like it! There will be more interviews in the future, as I decided to re-start this series. However I won’t only focus on musicians but on a wider variety of interesting people 😀

      Like

What do you have to say about it?

